Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Books

I'm re-listening to 'The Story of English in 100 Words' by David Crystal on Audible, and tonight I went home to fetch my paperback copy so I can read along.

Because my mind is in overdrive and won't leave the subject of History of English alone - along with tangents into Yorkshire Dialect & Yorkshire generally - I was incapable of coming away with just one book. I brought all of these.

Carrying my swag back down Mum's street at around 11pm tonight, I somehow turned my phone's Audible app on by mistake, and Professor David Crystal's voice started booming out at top volume (up high for listening in the car) about Anglo-Saxon riddles. I couldn't turn it off because both my arms were full of books. Unfortunately it was quite a long walk as I didn't manage to park near the house, so all Mum's neighbours were treated to interesting nuggets of information such as: "The riddle whose answer is 'a key' begins like this: 'Something wondrous hangs by a man's thigh...'"

I probably won't read all these books. But anyway, I'm enjoying looking at them on my shelf for now, and thinking that I might.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.