I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)

Well, that anniversary almost passed me by! Good job Blip Central sent a congratulatory comment yesterday. Anyway, today is blip number 501 and I’m afraid it’s not been a very interesting day, as most of it has been spent travelling from Oxford to Chester. As we were checking out early, I decided we would take the scenic route and avoid motorways. Basically went via Evesham, Worcester, Telford, Shrewsbury & Whitchurch, sticking to A roads all the way.
Whilst it was definitely scenic, and probably even a little shorter than using the motorways, it did seem we were driving for an awfully long time! Having said that, there were several reports of delays on the M6, so going that way might not have been any quicker.
Anyway, we’ve now got an evening/night in Chester and have taken advantage of being near a big multiplex cinema by booking to see the new James Bond film. But before that treat, I had to do my penance by restoring both of mother’s phones to full working order. The house phone “wasn’t ringing”. Well it was, but she had managed to turn the ringer off without realising it. A simple fix and I’ve shown her what to do next time it happens. Her mobile was more of a puzzler. It’s a very old fashioned phone - nothing smart about it - and I initially struggled to remember how to navigate such a primitive device! Wouldn’t send texts and said “SMS Full” even though there was nothing in the inbox, outbox or saved items. However, pressing the “delete all” button, restored the memory usage to 0% which stopped the message appearing. Still couldn’t send a text though. A search of the internet revealed a possible cause - the EE message centre number might be incorrectly set in the phone. A bit of deep delving into sub menus revealed that this was indeed the case. Entering the correct number restored connectivity instantly! I can’t believe that mum would have changed the number, so I’m guessing that EE changed it and either didn’t notify her, or did notify her and she didn’t understand the message!
Favourite child status duly reinstated and I can now have a bit of a rest before the film later. I bet James Bond doesn’t have these problems!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.