Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Mosaic

I have a bit of a story as regards this quote...

In 2001, I was working with a young, hugely talented singer-songwriter in Michigan to advance her career. I booked gigs for her, got her exposure in the press, sent her CD to radio stations. I recommended that she move to Boston because there was a thriving, supportive folk music community there, and because many of the best venues were within relatively easy driving distance from Boston. There just aren't that many in the Midwest.

The day she was to actually begin the drive was on 12 September. She and her family, musicians all, had a gig in the Chicago area to fulfill first... then she'd be off. On 10 September, she had a gig in Michigan opening for Clive Gregson. For his encore, he pushed away the microphone, and sang "Across The Universe"... and at the end, the whole venue was singing along, a cappella, "Nothing's gonna change my world, nothing's gonna change my world, nothing's gonna change my world..." It was beyond moving.

And, of course, the next day came, and indeed everything changed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.