Plymouth: City of Gulture?

The gull seemed to be patrolling this Plymouth flower bed. The sign says that its planting is 'supported by the Plymouth BID', which I think refers to the city's bid as UK City of Culture. The gull probably thinks they've missed the R out of BIRD.

I took this while sitting in the window at the hairdresser's awaiting my appointed cut and blow. The gull kept eyeing me, and when I got out my camera case, he looked excited. I think he failed to see the glass window as a barrier, and had worked out in his little birdie brain that I might be a picknicker. He turned his back on me once my camera was back in my bag.

It's sad walking round the city centre and seeing so many shops closed down, from chains like Jessops to local businesses. Seems to me traders and businesses suffer more from councils than from the effects of recession: councils kill town and city centres. Meanwhile, Plymouth council has closed the city airport and sold off the land for a housing estate, so more people can live in a ghost town with no jobs. Such vision! I think the gull shows more nous. I'd vote for him.

PS Just looked back at my blip for this date last year, and where were we but Plymouth, lunching at Leandra's. Same place as we lunched today! (We don't go there very often - what a coincidence!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.