Space: The Open Frontier

On This Day In History
1947: Chuck Yeager breaks the sound barrier

Quote Of The Day
"Rules are made for people who aren't willing to make up their own."
(Chuck Yeager)

A day for heroes. Chuck Yeager ........ and Captain Kirk! I pulled a late shift to watch William Shatner make history as the oldest man to make the trip into space, and choked back tears along with the man himself as he delivered a moving account of the experience upon his safe return. This on the day (Japan time, at least) that the great Chuck Yeager made history - in a less publicly vaunted way - as the first man to break the sound barrier in the Glamorous Glennis X-1 vehicle. Fantastic!

While many nay-sayers are downplaying the significance of Shatner's flight, I see it as a significant first step towards making space flight available to the masses, and I have no doubt that I will follow the Shat's footsteps within my lifetime, and perhaps go even further. To the Moon, I hope.

Now, can Elon Musk get Mark Hammill to Mars? As Yoda would say, "Do. Or do not. There is no try."

The Human Adventure Is Just Beginning

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.