JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 286: wonky geometry

At other times, in other places, I have enjoyed photographing the geometrical patterns of modern buildings. As I walked to the post box this afternoon looking for interesting geometry for Wide Wednesday, I remembered spending Easter Sunday afternoon 1984 with a friend at La Défense, the then new and, on a holiday Sunday, deserted business area on the edge of Paris, photographing gleaming expanses of plate glass and steel and empty concrete plazas with my first film SLR, to the suspicious bemusement of a couple of security guards. Today, I found only the wonky geometry of domestic architecture, much of it dating back at least a century and often several, constructed from varied and often irregular materials. The bright, low sun of a glorious autumn day left many façades in deep shadow, and as always most of the High Street was obscured by parked cars, but although I have blipped the house in the foreground before, I like this wider view of a scattering of triangles, squares and rectangles faced with a mixture of brick, weatherboarding, flints and render all typical of this area. 

J's Wednesday PA was with her today, so as well as my village walk I was able to enjoy a peaceful twenty minutes in the sun on the balcony with my (very nice) coffee and my book. Sainsbury's Taste the Difference coffee has been on offer recently, so I've taken the opportunity to explore some of the range. Today I opened the Sumatra Mandheling, my favourite so far. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.