Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

The second best day ever

I thought I posted this last night but Mum just said nothing was there!  I'd even written loads too, and I don't normally write much as each day is much the same as any other.  However it was my 50th birthday on Tuesday, although I knew my sister had set up a party for me at our parents house.  Well how spoiled was I?  My nieces had permission to have the afternoon off school, and I had cake (in McLaren papaya with 4 for my favourite driver, Lando Norris), sausage rolls, pigs in blankets! Cards and presents too!  I felt like the luckiest person alive, and the best day after our wedding day.

I can't remember everything I wrote but it was just so nice, and I had times when I looked back in the evening and realised for the first time in about 10 years I wasn't thinking about any responsibility just actually being present and enjoying that moment.  

I took one of my older bridge cameras for the girls to use and it ended up in the hands of the youngest and she was amazing.  Directing people, all the photographer stances (and has taken some lovely pictures of the day, well they both did) and seemed to be a natural.  Asked about the histogram and if that was how loud it was.  It kind of is I told her, that if light made a noise then it would be.  The eldest ended up with my "macro" camera which she was very responsible with and I had almost no worries letting her use!  They both took some videos too which are a bit Blair Witch Project but such good commentary and a fascinating insight into the world through their eyes!

When I got back the neighbour who had been sitting with Mr T (she had taken the afternoon off work and told me not to worry about rushing home) had got him a card to write for me (and had managed to get him to write something which I know is no mean feat) and some flowers for him to give to me, and she gave me a pamper pack.  From my sister I had a lovely aluminium print of my two nieces, and they had each done me a painting from the art boxes I had got them, I had a lovely box of watercolour paints and a wall hanging from Mum and Dad.  I felt thoroughly spoiled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.