Rare Mushroom up a tree.

Not often that I am able to blip an uncommon to rare Mushroom, especially one that grows up in trees.

I am told that this is a silky capped mushroom which often emerges from knot holes and damaged areas high up in standing trees.
It is not a parasite and is normally attached to somedead wood.

I am advised that it is a Silky Rosegill  ( Volvariella bombycina).
It should not be picked for eating as its rarity means it deserves protection.

Please look at the extra where you will see it is growing high up in a knot hole in a 
Horse Chestnut tree.

I am grateful to my friend Lynne who found it in the first place.
Also thanks to Rob Petley-Jones for asling his expert friend Pat O’Reilly for an identification.
Pat will be pleased to know that I own a copy of his excellent book “Fascinated by Fungi”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.