Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I took the other way to the store today, and my usual way home. The usual way is the one were I almost always stop to take a photo of bushes, leaves, flowers, rose hips and further down the road trees of different kinds. When I rounded the corner I got a shock... the bushes where bees thrives, insekts lived and bird chattered were ripped away... only soil left and a branch here and there... I got so mad! But, what can I do? Not my hedge... I promised myself to make something of my own, something small at least, to make up for this madness. 
Further down the road I found this little flower tossed aside. I recognised it from the hedge (bushes) and decided to take it home, give it some water and later press it as a memory of that lovely hedge with mixed bushes. 
I am going to ask the store how they thought and how they're going to make up for the biodiversity lost. The dandelions are gone so the bumblebee queens can't go there to feed. 
I'm also making plans to put some early botanical crocus bulbs in the ground next autumn. I can't do it this autumn, for different reasons, but when I know how my patio will look with the new greenhouse, new places for flower pots, storage and more, I will do my bit. I have plans to make pots and put them at my front door, where the cucumber plants stood this summer. I will plant spring bulbs there for the bumblebees and bees to feed. 
I hope I'll get a good answer from the store, that they have plans for plants and such... fingers crossed.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.