Plein Air day out

I met up with my plein air friends today in Henley. We met at the River and Rowing Museum and had a wander round.  There is an exhibition of John Piper artworks there and we sat and drew a few as it was so quiet.  I really enjoyed making a sketch of this one.. the more I drew the more there was to see and I realised when I had finished that I had missed quite a bit out but really enjoyed studying it.  When you are drawing in a gallery or museum generally you are not allowed to get out paints or fluids so I had taken along some ink pens, watercolour crayons and a water brush. It worked pretty well to get a bit of atmosphere.. This is the interior of Inglesham Church.

After a quick light lunch we headed out into the sunshine to draw and paint by the river.  Other than some unusual comments from passers by (which is not uncommon nor very welcome) we laughed a lot.. it was good to be in their company and painting outdoors without being cold!!

Original in extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.