Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Quebec Street

skating snow canyons
in the glacial north
quebec street


One Street 17

Quebec Street is the first small alley to spur off the Great Horton Road at the eastern end. I was only four paces off my One Street when taking this, which is close enough to include it in the project.

On the right is the Bradford Odeon which is featured in many previous blips. Straight ahead lies Quebec Terrace, with Skeleton Warehouse visible and Shabby Chic just around the corner.

Turning to George Sheeran's The Buildings of Bradford again, I learn that the four storey cottages on the left: "were probably built around 1800 as two separate units one on top of the other. Taking in doors in their gable...indicate their former use in textile production."

And the man that walked past while I was lining up the shot, and thereby made the shot, is definitely in phoneworld. Which didn't stop me reflexively looking over my shoulder when I heard him coming up behind. It's the sort of street where you feel the need to do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.