RegardsFromEdin

By RegardsFromEdin

Electronic Twittering Music

A longer run today so music required!  The selection was my vintage 1981/82 "Electronic Twittering Music" mixtape - it really does exist, see the photographic evidence.  

The set-up for us creating a tape required a cassette recorder, a mic, hi-fi and of course the carefully selected vinyl for that recording.  There are 21 songs on this C90 compilation including Depeche Mood's The Meaning of Love, Heaven 17's Fascist Groove Thing, Ultravox's Vienna and Haircut 100's Love Plus One. There seems to be an outlier in Bucks Fizz's A Land of Make Believe but maybe not.  The songwriter said "Beneath it's tra-la-laas is a virulent anti-Thatcher song"!  I remember me and my pal sitting in complete silence with the mic held close to the speakers for the entire time it took to record the songs!  I'm especially impressed with the effort that seems to have gone into post-production with an arty cassette box!

A few years ago, as a surprise, Mister F made a streamed version of the tape so that I could listen to it again.  I'd held onto the tape but hadn't had a cassette player since nineteen canteen.  

I think it might be race day music as I took almost 5 minutes off my time from last week.  Although it could have had more to do with today's sunshine compared to last week's rain and wind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.