Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Starting to Turn

Best days weather of the week.  Too good to be stuck indoors so I started work early and finished in time to visit Cannock Chase.  There is still not that much autumn colour out there, the bracken remains stubbornly green in most places and there are only the merest hints of oranges and yellow in the leaves.

Of all of the trees it is the beech that I love the most in autumn with its rich coppery tones.  I did find a few examples, but as you can see the majority of leaves remain green.  I've looked back on previous years in my photographs and reckon we are about two weeks behind.  I imagine the colours will all come in a rush once we get a cold snap.  Frustratingly, the forecast for the next few days is mild, even getting warmer after the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.