madowoi

By madowoi

Empty Chair

Fall, leaves, fall; die, flowers, away;
Lengthen night and shorten day;
Every leaf speaks bliss to me
Fluttering from the autumn tree.
I shall smile when wreaths of snow
Blossom where the rose should grow;
I shall sing when night’s decay
Ushers in a drearier day.


Fall, leaves, fall, by Emily Bronte


After reading so many poems about fall and death, many of which were great and nearly got posted here today, it was refreshing to come back around to this one. I get a kick out her embrace of the dreary.

Honestly there is much about the season changing that I look forward to as well. With the bugs gone I can get out around the house more. With the cold coming tourists are starting to go away. With the leaves falling familiar scenic views are opening up again. Halloween and the Winter Solstice are two of my favorite holidays, and I enjoy the snow. Though scraping off the car in the morning will definitely be a drag.

I don't quite remember how this chair ended up behind the house, but I know it used to be on the porch and it's obviously been there for awhile. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.