NZ Winter 2024

By AndrewNZ

Kasper the Steam dog!

So I did a few jobs and and fed the chooks, checked the bees and decided to go out looking for a suitable Blip.
I had decided Tahuna Back Beach would be OK and I check if the kite surfers were about of which were was one who was quite a way out.
I took quite a few pictures, none that I have used, and was returning to the car with Kasper who was enjoying his walk in an area we rarely go to.
And the I thought I saw smoke? So I parked up and walked across a field to the Modellers Club and there was a couple of guys steaming up a loco.
It a replica of a Glasgow built NZR J class (1939) built for use in New Zealand some 40 were built.
So having some steam experience and chatting to the owner he was going to do a couple of circuits of the line and said do you want to come along so obviously I did and Kasper (The steam dog) went too.
The smell of the smoke and steam oil brought back many memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.