Back at Work

I decided to do some autumn sowing this year and ordered up a dozen or so packets of seeds the other day. They arrived this morning and coincidentally the weather was pretty good for working the allotment, cold but dry, so that was me for a good few hours. Digging, weeding and sowing. I’ve sown 1st Early peas behind the leeks plus some cos lettuce and mustard next to the remaining salad stuff. Am now wondering which other seeds need to be started off in pots, which can be sown directly in the beds and which are best held back until the spring. Decisions, decisions.
Before I prepared the small patch shown I had to try and collect all the seeds from a clump of coriander. I worked away for ages stripping them into a poly bag before realising there was a hole in said bag and all I was doing was scattering the seed. Oh joy! There is going to be a mass of unwanted coriander seedlings next spring. Never mind, I finished the job (new bag) and left the rest of the seeds on the allotment’s ‘to share’ bench. I didn’t want the blinking seeds in the first place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.