Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Full Steam Ahead

The locomotive 'Flying Scotsman' is currently visiting the Mid-Norfolk Railway.  I'd thought of going down to see it but decided not to, as I'd seen it several times before.  However, this morning I changed my mind and had a drive down to see the 10.00am departure from Dereham.  I rather liked this spot where the engine goes over a level crossing which itself is beneath a flyover but it proved problematic.  Firstly, I assumed that once the traffic had stopped I could walk onto the opposite side of the road in the knowledge there would be no traffic there.  I reckoned without the emergency ambulance that screamed up, all lights blazing; you can see it's shadow on the road.  Secondly, it was a very bright morning but the engine was in shadow so I've had to do quite a bit of fartnarkling to reduce the shadows which means it has ended up a bit grainy.  Apart from that, though, I'm quite pleased with the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.