Let the adventure begin!

It wouldn’t be an adventure if there wasn’t a little bit of uncertainty.

When I first saw a photo of Great Dun Fell, my thought was Mont Ventoux!  The description says as much.  It's obviously much shorter but quite steep quite a lot of the time for about four miles, it’s going to be a mighty 2°C at the top by the time I plan to arrive (if I’m lucky it’ll feel only just sub zero) and I’m not sure I’m on form enough. I am, however, as prepared as I can be, camping close enough for a short warm up circuit, carrying multiple spare layers for the summit and descent and paring down my water for weight. If I fancy a longer ride when I’m down, I’ll come back to the van to warm up and fill up first.

Tonight, it’s going to hoof it down with 50mph winds on the summit. Again, if I’m lucky, the sub zero temperatures will arrive after the rain! 

The top of the hill is somewhere between the last chimney of the house on the left and the pub - in the cloud! 

There’s nothing finer than an excuse for an adventure. Let the BlipDay begin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.