roomitchell

By roomitchell

The Joyful Kilmarnock Blues

Lovely walk home tonight, where the land of Arthur's Seat met the sky; and this came on my iPhone music.

I walked through the country.
I walked through the town.
I held my head up.
And I didn't look down.
The question doesn't matter.
The answer's always "aye".
The best view of all.
Is where the land meets the sky.

Lothian Sky. Lothian Sky.

(And the rest of the song from the start....)

I'm not going to talk about doubts and confusion.
On a night when I can see with my eyes shut.
I'd never been to Ayrshire.
I hitched down one saturday.
Sixty miles to Kilmarnock.
To see Hibernian play.
The day was bright and sunny.
But the game I won't relay.
And there was no Kilmarnock bunnet.
To make me want to stay.

But I'm not going to talk about it.
On a night when I can see with my eyes shut.
When I started walking at Wishaw.
My eyes obscured my vision.
After five miles on my way.
I began to learn to listen.

Lyric credit to Craig and Charlie Reid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.