digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Dunlopillo Demolition

This is the old office building of Dunlopillo, the latex foam mattress manufacturers who had a large site situated in Pannal, just south of Harrogate. You can still see where the 'Dunlopillo' sign was on the wall.
It is a very well known local landmark which has overlooked the village and the adjacent railway station since its construction in 1961. The company moved out of the site in around 2008 and has since been taken over. 
Last month, the demolition men moved in and stripped out the windows,  interior walls and fittings.
Currently there are proposals to build an even taller four story apartment block on the site which has gained a considerable amount of opposition from locals. I'm not sure yet whether the go-ahead has been given for this.
I used to live nearby and pass this building on my way to work, so thought I would go and see what state it was in. There was no security fence around it, so I was able to conduct a little urban exploration. The shell of the building looks quite reusable to me, and I particularly liked the still intact staircase leading up from what was the reception area. (First extra). Although there was no one there, (apart from hundreds of pigeons), I didn't dare go up the steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.