BRIANW

By BRIANW

Dancing Shoes, Aylesford

Work was again absolutely full-on and this time featured the added curse of having to do overtime. I'm running as hard as I can just to stand still and it's not working.
Thank God for the little moments of joy, laughter and the occasional dance (on my own, hopefully with no one watching, in my studio). Yesterday was a case in point. On a Friday lunchtime me and a work colleague always go to the pub round the corner for a bite to eat and a pint. I look forward to it so much and yesterday it didn't disappoint. I asked for a ham and cheese toastie with fries and the landlord looked at me very solemnly  and said he was all out of ham and cheese toasties  but he did have cheese  and ham instead. I din't even register the joke until he, the bar staff and my colleague were roaring with laughter. He'd done me up like a kipper and I hadn't even noticed! I was so tired it had completely gone over my head.
Today's image features a very old flyer for the dancer Michael Clark so I tried to make my image look as Eighties as I could. He was hailed as British dance's true iconoclast and he emerged as a prodigy of the London Royal Ballet School in the early Eighties. He collaborated with the likes of Sarah Lucas, Leigh Bowery, Mark E. Smith and the rather wonderfully named Relaxed Muscle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.