Repairs to the Inverness Old High Kirk were recently completed. The scaffolding's finally gone, and the old weather vane's been replaced with this much simpler cross. Obviously a fair amount of the copper roofing's been replaced, along with the seagulls leaving their marks...

According to someone at work (i.e. pinch of salt required), there were a couple of bullet holes in the old weather vane. I much preferred it. Possibly because I was more likely to look at it to see where it's pointing.

Other news is somewhat worrying, financially speaking. Car failed it's MOT. Power steering not working. Shows how often I use the car, that I'd thought that the slightly heavy feel wasn't much to worry about. Felt much like the previous Peugeot, a 205, that didn't have power steering. The exact cause is not known, but the hydraulic pump is the number one suspect. Of course there are two different types. Taking off the existing one is the only way to find out which one's fitted. A genuine Peugeot pump is £265, or other ones are £135 (+VAT... of course).

Somewhat lesser expensive requirements were new front brake disks, pads, and a basic service. It'll need a new tyre very soon, lest I think that's all. The car's now ten years old, and I've had it for five of those years. The sad thing is that last year I drove even fewer miles than the previous year's minimum ever. Must have cycled a good bit further than the mere 2,515 miles done in the car. Makes the cost per mile one helluva lot more significant. Of course the low mileage is also one of the reasons for demise of the disks - too rusted from lack of use. Well, that and the materials chosen for them by the manufacturer.

As said oft before, I've never been a car person. They're just transport. Were it not for the kayaking, of which I've done very little of the past couple of years, I'd do without the thing, as in the past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.