Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Pumpkin

Last year, a work colleague gave me a pumpkin that he grew on his allotment. It sat on my kitchen windowsill for a bit, then one weekend I cut it into wedges, roasted it, and made it into soup with lentils and red peppers. It was delicious.

This year - this very week in fact, my colleague gave me another pumpkin. This isn't it - this is last year's. This year, the pumpkin hasn't even made it to the kitchen window sill. It's still in the boot of my car. I wonder if I will make soup with it. Or maybe I will just give it to a neighbour who has kids, to make a lantern with. Or maybe I'll leave it in my car, till it takes root, and grows into a pumpkin tree. (Disclaimer: I do actually know pumpkins don't grow on trees.)

Spent Saturday sorting paperwork at Mum's. Not finished yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.