Mizzle

Long sleep….the curtains were effective blackouts and so I woke late then we stayed in bed and chatted and I read the Sunday papers before we got up and headed for breakfast. Outside a group of men were toiling in the drizzly rain to lay a large expanse of artificial grass…looked liked they were building a putting green or something but they were soaked and looked very miserable!
We ate our large breakfasts and then checked out and drove down to Ayr so I could show A where I was born and various important spots from my memories…my Gran’s house and retirement flat, the Carnegie library (as was) where I used to go to collect another new murrrrder book for her, the house I lived in until I was five, the cemetery wall (always found that spooky as it went up the hill and so we were walking at the level of the bodies when we were on the pavement), the beach and view over to Dunure where we picked winkles to boil up later and pull out the tasty bits with a safety pin, and (bit of a theme here) the beach wall with its distinctive texture. As we wandered along the beach for a while we found a dead seal (extra). It didn’t seem marked at all so no idea what it had died of but it must have been recent. Poor thing.
We stopped for a coffee at a place that we thought would be all hipster style but in fact was all plastic plants and overblown buttercream on their bakes ….packed out though so they’ve clearly hit the spot for locals.
Back to the hotel for our last treatments…reflexology for A and a facial for me. Super relaxing.
We drifted home on a relaxed wave, stopping to do the week’s shopping and then being lucky with a parking place when we got home. Made a big roast dinner and caught up with N who’s been doing a lot of sleeping and recovering. Chatted over dinner then A made some brownies for work and we watched a programme about wildlife on Mull before I had an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.