The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Woodland Garden (Saturday 16th October 2021)

It was another quick foray into the Front Yard to snap this echinacea head as the day was largely spent battling with technology, in which 21st century living more totally engulfs us with increasing fresh hells each day (two-step authentication, anyone?).
This year I've battled with apps ceasing to work on my not very Smart Blu-ray player, two Fire Sticks in separate rooms blocking each other out, getting my library online magazine subscription service to recognise that my library exists, and noise-on-the-line problems being 'fixed' by Open Reach engineers by completely removing two extension sockets so I can no longer hear the phone ring when I'm in my study upstairs.
I fixed the last problem with a pair of cordless phones that will hopefully work via VOIP when BT closes down all its copper wires in 2025 and makes all their sockets obsolete.
This day's battle was trying to use Zoom for the first time. It was a simple process as the call was hosted by my brother The Spotlight Kid so I only had to click a link and then had a chance to try out various on-screen tricks during the conversation, but I then went through a tutorial learning how to host a call myself, which I have yet to put into practice. The audio quality was better than I'd feared and may be improved if I plug the iPad into my hi-fi system USB unless there's a feedback problem. Life used to be so simple.

L.
Monday 18.10.2021 (1202 hr)

Blip #3534 (#3284 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2021 #189/265 (= -78/78 left) + #086/100 Extras
Day #4222 (943 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2677 (#2517 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Flora series
Macro series
Front Yard series
Woodland Garden

The Woodland Garden (September-October 2021)

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Gram Parsons - Love Hurts (recorded July 1973, San Francisco and Los Angeles CA) ·
Gram Parsons (vcl, ac gtr) with Emmylou Harris (vcl), James Burton (el ld gtr), Al Perkins (pdl stl), Herb Pederson (ac rh gtr), Glen D Hardin (pno), Emory Gordy (bass), Ron Tutt (dr, perc)
R.I.P. Ron Tutt (12 March 1938, Dallas TX - 16 October 2021)
Ron Tutt spent 10 years playing for Elvis Presley in his Taking Care Of Business band and was Neil Diamond's drummer from 1981. He also performed, toured or recorded with The Flying Burrito Bros, Roy Orbison, the Jerry Garcia Band, Glen Campbell, Johnny Cash, Elvis Costello, Stevie Nicks and many others.
For me, this is the definitive version of the Boudleaux Bryant/Felice Bryant song that the Everly Brothers recorded first in 1960 and then again in 1964. This single was taken from Gram Parson's Grievous Angel album.

One year ago:
River Avon, Chippenham

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.