Mono Monday....20th Century Inventions

A gloomy grey sky and spots of rain gave me the push to take the bus to Rotherham and buy a new sofa. I decided to indulge myself to complete the comfort in my lounge, I  knew what I wanted, so an easy transaction. The only drawback, a possible four month wait due to the current state of the country's deliveries situation! .
Before I went out I photographed my dad's old watch, a small keepsake I have. A 20th century invention which we have all enjoyed at some time in our lives I'm sure. ...thanks again to Laurie54 for a great theme.

John Harwood 1923
Invented in 1923 by John Harwood (1893 – 1964), a watch repairer from Bolton Lancashire who took out a UK patent with his financial backer, Harry Cutts, on 7 July 1923, and obtained a corresponding Swiss patent on 16 October 1923.
Recognizing that dust and dampness were decisive factors leading to most wrist watches inaccuracy and functional problems, Harwood looked to develop a watch with a winding mechanism inside the watch.
Self Winding Watch Company
The watches were first shown at the Basel Fair in 1926. He set up the Harwood Self Winding Watch Company in 1928 to market the watches in the UK.

Thanks for looking in and responding x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.