How modern?

I hope this will count as appropriate for Mono Monday!

Strange day today - we were up early for us as the cleaner was coming and Rob, Dad and I were going out for breakfast.  With that in mind I went to give Dad a cup of tea at about 8.30am and found him lying on the floor in wet pyjamas and the bed linen wet too.  He was difficult to wake up and was very groggy and making no sense at all.  Rob and I struggled to get him up onto a chair, decided we needed to wash him down somehow.  We sort of managed that and dressed him to keep him warm.  He lay down again on the bed so we covered him up and waited a short time to see if he was going to become a little more lucid.  He didn't.  We phoned and eventually got through to 111 who were excellent and got two ambulances (!) to us in a few minutes.  He was checked over very thoroughly and they decided he needed to go to hospital for the extreme confusion, low blood pressure and some bleeding in his ear.  I was asked to go with him as he wasn't capable of giving details himself so I was allowed into A and E with him.  I gave all the information to the doctor and nurse who were with him very quickly in Rapid attention triage.  He was still very confused and unable to answer any questions - deafness and confusion are not good bedfellows.  I left after a few minutes as I was very much in the way!  He has now had a head scan which had to be delayed as he wouldn't keep still.  and they are concerned about kidney function and other infections.  I now have to phone tomorrow for more information.

It was very difficult for us to handle him this morning.  We are happy that he is in the local hospital where they can check him over properly and give us advice on the way forward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.