Theleens

By Theleens

Light and Dark

A long day at work. 8am to 6.30pm without a break. We don't have these days very often. The 'going home' is the best part of the day in that, although you're tired, you feel you now have a right to really let go and enjoy yourself.

So, I walked home on a glorious sunny evening and felt I was chasing the sun, it becoming ever so weary and wishing to lay down its radiant head.

I walked past my familiar church and saw the statue of St. Francis of Assisi ,looking calm and welcoming. I may not go to church often but that doesn't mean I don't feel the church within me (something my mother taught me).

So, I took a picture of St. Francis and continued on my way. I then scanned the northern-faced street and knew exactly where the western sun would drape over Stamford's city streets before retiring for the evening.

I was close to the site in question. The sun was low, the shadows were long. The last time I worked with shadows was a year ago at Cove Island in which I created video footage of me walking as if I was with someone else. Thanks to shadows.

Therefore, I thought of Markus and Paul, my 'light chasers' and found a small section of light to capture as it was descending between two buildings west of Atlantic Street.

I used my shadow self as the portrait.

The buzz was overlaying the two images and realizing they optically looked the same.

Well, that's my imagination talking, what do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.