earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

On the Train

Roam had to take his mum's car back to Ilkley (long story) so I popped down the hill to meet him for a coffee before he got the train back home. His work schedule combined with a deadly cold (which I stayed well away from) has meant that I've not seen him in a good few weeks. We both realised how much easier it is to have a conversation away from the distractions of home while drinking some seriously good coffee - at the Commute. We got our money's worth, talking for almost two hours.

On the subject of trains, I need to offload about my journey back from London yesterday. My last intended trip down south, back at the end of 2019 - on my way to an XR demo - resulted in me aborting the journey because of someone sadly being hit by the train ahead. The very long wait meant I reached a point where there was no point going on a long diversion and I stayed on the train as it reversed back to Leeds. This time, the same thing tragically happened on the way home and I was stuck in a very similar place, just going in the opposite direction. After waiting for a couple of hours, the train reversed back to Retford where communication as to what to do became chaotic. No one seemed to have a clue. After changing trains three times and making gradual progress, I found myself on the very same set that I'd departed London on. It eventually arrived a bit over three hours late, but fortunately just in time to get my connection home. Thank goodness for having a good book to hand. It's hard to moan about a few hours in the context of what had happened. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.