The Big Golden Dog

By Cowlieowlie

Gowanbank

I was at a Scripture Union camp this weekend. As a leader! I went some years ago on this camp as a camper and it was amazing to come back. I was a trainee cook so mostly in the kitchen, but I also got some interaction with the kids which was great! They were primary age and this was the first time most of them had been away like this. They were great - one or two homesick ones but we kept them busy and well-fed.


Gowanbank is Scripture Union Scotland's newest centre - a big house donated to them down towards Ayrshire. It's beautiful! This was the room I shared with two other leaders. Sadly I forgot to take any good photos of the bathroom but it was amazing too! A bath with clawed feet and a toilet with a chain to pull, and big high tower windows. SU centres are an odd mixture of slightly scruffy antique furniture and modern bunk beds and fire escape notices.

This is a back-blip so I can tell you that I slept in till 9 O'clock on Monday morning! Very late for me. We had some late nights (partly our own fault - the leaders stayed up playing mafia and eating tasty things). All in all an excellent time. It's good to serve Jesus by making leek and potato soup!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.