Autumn in the woods

Autumn seems to have been a long time coming this year. Although many planted trees along highway verges are now turning colour, particularly species such as Norway Maple, Southern Dogwood and Narrow-leaved Ash, the native deciduous woodland trees are still mostly green. 

However, more fungi are now appearing, particularly species growing on stumps and fallen branches. I left my visit to Old Sulehay rather late and so most of the photographs were taken in remarkably low light. My new camera coped well with the difficult conditions and enabled me to produce some usable stacked images with the shutter wide open and a relatively low shutter speed. 

It was effectively dark for the last part of my walk through the wood. Fortunately I know it very well and was careful to go steadily avoiding all the many tree roots that can trip up the unwary. When I reached the car there was a gorgeous apricot moon rising through the clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.