Elbe Philharmonic Hall

We slept out a bit, but still woke up in time to decide that we weren't going to have breakfast at the hotel.  Checked out at 10.00, and then I insisted on passing by this iconic high point of modern Hamburg architecture.  Drove around looking for a parking space, and we noticed that several people, in fact hundreds of people, were walking to it or driving to it, and I wondered at all this Sunday activity.  Found out later that there was a lunch concert and that Evelyne and her husband were actually one of the attendees!  At the moment I was shooting it, though, I did not know that.  Finally found a spot on 'our' side of the river, so I had to walk back to it.  AW stayed in the car.

Not sure I like the style but at the same time I found it impressive.  The price tag of the entire project was rather impressive, too, but I kept the idea in my mind that 'expensive' and 'beautiful' are two different things, not necessarily overlapping, and certainly not mutually inclusive.  Both AW and I might return here someday because AW has always been curious about the acoustics, and now, I am, too.  Extra -- a mono shot.  In fact, I took several mono shots as it was such a grey day.

Does it not look slightly like a brownie with a topping of whipped cream?

We arrived at the now familiar Elbe Tunnel at 11.00 and were home by 18.00.  Could have been earlier, but we stopped by somewhere to fill up both the car and ourselves, and then a little further on again so that I could have a short nap.  The nap was cut even shorter as AW wanted to do some driving.  He even managed to push the seat back!  After about 150 km., I took over again, with the seat pushed forward again, and so reached home.  Both rather tired, as you can imagine, so AW warmed up some leftovers and we had a cozy dinner.  I missed our house.

Tomorrow I will be on the road again -- appointment in AMS.  As long as it stays dry.  Haven't been to the capital in quite a while, even though the last time feels like it was just yesterday.  Slightly slow with postings, but I think you understand why.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.