Old Warden Pear

Where I used to live, outside the village of Old Warden, one of their claims to fame is the Old Warden Pear. 
I saw this book by Margaret Roberts advertised recently, and bought a copy which arrived yesterday.
It’s quite detailed, so have only read a small part of it, but basically Warden pears were brought to England by Cistercian monks and named after Warden Abbey. (I’ve blipped Warden Abbey several times which was just down the road from where I lived)
In medieval times, "warden" was a general term for a hard cooking pear, coming from the Anglo-French word "warder" meaning to conserve or preserve.
The Warden Abbey Logo shown on the front of the book is three golden pears on a blue shield and first appeared in the mid 15th century.
Anyway, there’s lots more I could say, but my favourite pear recipe is one where they are poached in lemonade, like my Mum used to make!
Oh, and the pear in the picture is one which I picked up this morning on the morning dog walk. Bizarrely, on our modern estate, the next road to us has a pear tree as one of the landscaping features. This was one of the fallen pears on the ground. Expect there will be many more tomorrow if we get the promised thunderstorm over night!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.