Very Gusty - Agusta Lands

I haven't visited the nursery that my sisters and I inherited from our mother since before the first lockdown so Ollie dog and I went today. Everything seems to be fine. We have a reliable and long standing tenant. We had to sell the family home to pay our mother's care home fees. The new owners have built a beautiful extension onto the house.

We then went to Lawling Creek where I was hoping to shoot waders probing the mud. Unfortunately the tide was in and there was no mud exposed, so no shore birds. As we walked along the sea wall I noticed the air ambulance overhead. I can't resist shooting this beautiful aircraft every time I see it, even though it is back and forth over our home constantly. 

The Agusta circled and then returned. It was about to land! How exciting! The wind was very strong but the pilot made a perfect landing on the foreshore. I heard later that a workman had fallen from the roof of a house and landed in a position where it was difficult to reach him. A fire engine, ambulances and police cars arrived with personnel to assist. I'm guessing there were ten emergency vehicles. I do hope the poor man wasn't too badly hurt.

I had a chat with the captain of the helicopter. (Extras). He told me that he started as a paramedic and sold his house to pay for his helicopter pilot training. He says it's the best decision he has made. I've added an image to extras of the aircraft with the creek in the background. When it took off the downdraught nearly blew us off the seawall.  

Ollie and I had a shock when she toppled off a wooden bridge over a smelly dyke and couldn't get her back legs up onto the boards. A nice man called Warren helped me haul her back up. I was shaking like a leaf afterwards. 

When we got back to the car the poor girl slipped as she jumped into the back of the Volvo. I hadn't noticed that there was a dollop of guano on the bumper. :(  In spite of everything we have both had a lovely day in the phenomenally warm sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.