Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

The Last Supper

'When the hour came, Jesus and his apostles reclined at the table. 15 And he said to them, "I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer. For I tell you, I will not eat it again until it finds fulfillment in the kingdom of God."

After taking the cup, he gave thanks and said, "Take this and divide it among you. For I tell you I will not drink again from the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes."

And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, "This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me."

In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, "This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you".'

Luke 22v14-20


Today, Maundy Thursday, we remember the Last Supper. During the meal Jesus took bread and wine and shared them with his disciples. This is my version of the last supper for a blip!

Maundy Money is also shared out by the Queen to men and women the same age as her. This tradition dates from the 13th century, the reign of Edward I. Previously, the money was only given to those the same sex as the Monarch.

We will have a Communion Service at church later this evening.

I am trying to do some much needed housework and some more assignment work followed by relaxation. Tomorrow I intend to try to spend the whole day relaxing! :)

Happy Thursday everyone~the long weekend begins tomorrow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.