Return to the North

By Viking

R.I.P.

A happy and sad kind of day today.
The happy : I had arranged a meet up with a friend in Beverley today. It’s a good job we had planned to walk round the Minster because it absolutely persisted it down! We had lunch in a cafe close by, before deciding to head back to mine for a matter rather than get even more soaked walking! The drive from Beverley to the bridge was horrible but south of the bridge was sunny! Hey ho!!!

The sad: fortuitous that we were in a place of worship so I could light a candle for Abby. Abby is the mum of our neighbour and a friend of my sister. Many moons ago now she came out to NZ on holiday and I was surprised to get a call out to the school reception area where Abby stood bearing Galaxy chocolate And Yorkshire tea bags from home :-) After my move back to the UK I have caught up with her as she lived in the same village (and of course her daughter is next door)
Just last week we were told she was terminally ill. Probably as a result of Covid doctor practice and not wanting to bother anyone she had become sick without getting it checked out. By the time she ended up in hospital a couple of weeks ago it was too late and last night she passed away. Sis and I had an horrifically sleepless night and it passed through my mind several times whether or not she had lasted through the night. She did not! I have felt quite sad today. Abby was just 65 and was full of life and adventure (cue travelling NZ by herself).
Life is so fleeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.