Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Mum, play with me, the rain is loud, MUM!!!!

Extra, all upside down today.
The Garden Fairy has plans. I am not included! This manure is not what I would have chosen, I prefer the muck we get from local stables but she is in charge and I am simply the ATM. Apparently we have employed a neighbour’s son in law to do the heavy lifting and landscaping; I wanted to employ two ladies we know who run their own gardening service, have tremendous work ethic and are a happy lady couple. My designs may have been too much for the GF’s sense of propriety. 

Our daughter was working her way round Western Oz and rented a house in Perth. It has to be my favourite city on the planet with the Swan River flowing through it. We flew out to see how she was doing and had many adventures (more to follow) but one came to mind when the muck was delivered this morning. I waited near the gates of Perth Zoo as Elaine acquainted herself with the facilities. There was a pile of sacks of Lion and Tiger poo, guaranteed to keep cats away from your herbidiciousastras. Being dull and forgetting myself I stood beneath a coconut tree. Gorillas fascinate me and I was excited to get along to their enclosure and greet our cousins. There was a “crackada!” and a large coconut smashed into the ground a few feet away from me. The husks make them larger than a rugby ball and they are pointed. So close to death, yet no warning signs. If it had been ‘Murrika there would have been cries of “Oh maaaaa gaaaaaad!” but no, the Aussies shrugged, muttered, “Missed,” and went on with life. 

On her Madge’s War Canoes there is a process whereby the ship’s company and visiting Marines are woken softly and gently, usually at 0600.
The Bosun of the Watch is allowed to key the microphone and inform the dozing souls, dreaming of that voluptuous, dark haired beauty from the last run ashore, (usually female) that it’s time to rise, powder one’s parts and get moving. He, or nowadays she, may intone the following little rhyme to make one smile. 

“Wakey Wakey rise and shine, you’ve had your sleep, I want mine!!!”

If he/she has had a rough night you might just hear -

“There is a Green Hill Far Away……This isn’t a hill, I’m not green, get up you lazy bastards!!!”

There are others, including rhymes for socks, hands and other appendages but I am not crass enough to put them on here. 

Herself is sewing, Morse wants to play and keeps leaping onto the sewing table to lash out at the thread. Every few minutes I hear a shriek, not from the cat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.