SkiMe

By SkiMe

MonoMonday Challenge 404 - 20th Century Inventions

My first cell phone was in 1995.  I had just bought my first motorcycle - a used 1986 BMW R650 if I remember correctly.  I was worried about breaking down on the road and bought the cell phone to help me out in case of emergency while on the road.  After I sorted the carbs, the motorcycle never let me down.  I sold it before moving to Italy.

The cell phone was the large Motorola attache style with a zip case, a big battery and a spiral cord to the headset.  Not exactly comfortable to slip in your pocket like today's phones, but at least with the bigger battery and power, it guaranteed a longer range as the cell tower coverage back in 1995 was still pretty sparse out of town.  Funny when I think about it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.