Caramacs & Monkey Socks

By AmyW

Tenement Life

The problem with living - and working - in old buildings, is that after a while things start to fall off. Actually, that's not just specific to old buildings. A few years ago my high school was demolished and a new one built in another part of the town. The first winter it was open, the roof blew off. Maybe it was the big bad wolf?
Anyway, yesterday part of the roof fell in and showered the stairwell in debris, with a nice big mess just outside my door. I'm glad I don't live on the top floor any more! Just a few weeks ago a pane of glass in the cupola came loose and was dangling precariously for a while - could've been very nasty if it had fallen on someone! Maybe I need to get a hard hat to leave the building every day!  :-s

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.