How she does it

Last Thursday Margie asked, "How do you maintain substance in your life?"

Many of you answered. I compiled your answers, taking care to include only the ones that Margie already practices, as at this point, adding something more is almost impossible for her. I printed it out and gave it to her this week. 

"Yes," she said, "I can relate to every one of these. I'm going to put this somewhere in my house where I'll see it and remember." 

How to Maintain Substance in Your Life

observing Margie Karter, age 95

Be curious.
Love all you love 
as if it’s about to 
disappear. 
Note what changes.
Re-member the past,
ask what it
taught you.
Keep moving. 
Tell the whole truth
to yourself and others.
Take time to see each
person you meet.
Connect. Nourish what
you love in yourself. 
Witness your loss and grief, 
allow the sorrow,
deny nothing.
Rejoice in absurdity. 
Laugh often.

October, 2021

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.