Grammy

By Grammy

Needing St. George

Sunny and mild all day. My youngest called for help before I got up this morning. Sky needed her play costumes and they had nothing on the list. As I was searching my closets for everything, I removed all clothes that no longer fit (I’m so ‘If You Give a Mouse a Cookie’). My friend has lost weight so I boxed it all up for her. Dropped off the costumes and the clothes. Found some parts I need for my repurposed Christmas gift project at an estate sale plus some nice stained glass pieces. Visited my sister and BIL to pick up two beautiful house plants for my son. Decided to use this church for my blip today. This was our family’s parish church when I was school age. Established in 1851, St. George Parish was staffed by the Jesuit Community of Fathers for over one hundred years, then by Archdiocesan priests. The present church was built in 1959. It has been remodeled over the years with the recent addition of a Narthex. Hubby and I really like the current pastor. Little did I know as I left there that I’d need St. George’s intercession to slay a couple dragons/demons before I got back home. My mother called me, very distraught. At that moment, she was convinced there was a warrant for her arrest for four counts of who knows what. I called hubby who had just finished mowing our lawn. We went straight down to see what was going on. As we suspected, she had been traumatized over the phone by criminals trying to get her personal/financial information many times in the last two days. Long story short, Hubby made several inquiries, solicited the help of the sheriff’s office and tried to convince my mother it was a hoax. We will continue to monitor her accounts. For now, we are all mentally drained. Be cautious folks. The world is full of these demons. Thanks for stopping by. “Advance our standards, set upon our foes; Our ancient word of courage, fair Saint George, Inspire us with the spleen of fiery dragons!” - William Shakespeare

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.