madowoi

By madowoi

Brief Morning Detour

Wake! For the Sun, who scatter'd into flight
The Stars before him from the Field of Night,
Drives Night along with them from Heav'n and strikes
The Sultan's Turret with a Shaft of Light.


from The Rubaiyat, by Omar Kayyam


Took a small detour down to the marina this morning on the way to work. I've been listening to David Sedaris read his collection of diary entries Theft by Finding during my commute this week. It's strangely compelling and the drive goes by quickly, as if I am in some sort of trance. His description of urban life in the 70s and 80s feels familiar. All the bizarre snippets of conversation, odd jobs, strange characters, and hand to mouth living conjures up an air of nostalgia. Maybe I'm just looking for an excuse to get outside the present and my own head. I'm working myself up to take a day off. I think I need it. Honestly I need two days off: one to get my work done, and the other to clear all the dry leaves out of my brain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.