Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Digging into my past

I’m in a sorting out kind of mood, must be a late spring clean! I’ve always kept tickets and programmes and yesterday I found a folder full of such things from the late 1960s/early ‘70s. I knew I’d seen Pink Floyd once but twice? Had forgotten that! I didn’t realise how many times I’d seen King Crimson, Roxy Music and Osibisa. I’ve seen Richie Havens, Joe Cocker and The Beach Boys? Yes! On the reverse of the tickets I noted exactly who was playing, much better than a diary, which I could never get on with - until I discovered Blipfoto of course.

But this one from 1972 is the most precious of all. Was it really the first ticket issued (see top left)? Yes it was the Spiders From Mars tour and yes Ziggy Stardust was killed off a few months later. On checking the tour dates (I’m still geeky…) I find they did 182 gigs in 18 months. No wonder Bowie cracked up.

The extras are a tiny selection from the stack. How did I ever have time to go to school?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.