Distractions

It started with me running the slow, hot, tap into the bathroom basin. 
Knock at the door, ran down and it was Morrisons shopping delivery, so that took 10 minutes, taking it in and sorting it out.
Nearly finished and heard the 'Electric Chair' coming down the stairs with F.M.i.L. Put the kettle on, put her toast into the toaster, sorted her tablets and got her settled.
Went back upstairs and noticed a patch of wet on the carpet outside the bathroom! Oh No! thought I, I'd left the tap running.
Turned it off, opened the plug, talk about bolting the stable door! put a LARGE bathtowel across the floor to mop up the lake of water, and ran downstairs to find a drip coming from the bannister Newel (had to look that up!). I got a towel onto the kitchen floor to mop up what was there, and catch what was to come.
The water had seeped through the doorway, run along underneath the landing carpet to the staircase, hence the dripping newel.
After mopping up I got a bucket but it was already slowing and the bucket finished up with about an eggcup full of water.
There are a couple of small areas of staining on the kitchen ceiling, when it is thoroughly dry I will paint over it with 'Stain Seal' and then repaint white.
It could have been worse if I hadn't recently, a few months ago, gone around the whole bathroom floor redoing the mastick sealant. Wish I'd gone along the bottom of the bath panel and the metal door strip too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.