Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

Drama!

I already knew that today would probably be quite eventful. It was the last day before half term, a non-uniform day (I wore my jeans - yay!) and there's still almost a full moon - the perfect recipe for the 'perfect behaviour storm'! The day did start and finish with quite a bit of drama but thankfully without any in the middle... and not caused by the students!

The students where I was working again today (now forever to be known as 'Utopia School', as it is wonderful) were getting their Covid jabs today and there was a big anti-vaxxer demonstration near the school gates when I arrived. They were waving signs at the cars passing by and some were talking to the many students who had congregated near the corner shop to watch the proceedings. Several police officers were there and appeared to be trying to move the demonstrators away. The demonstrators are entitled to their opinion but I couldn't help thinking that they were sending very mixed messages. Some signs said things like 'Don't vaccinate our children', '99.8% survive' and 'All jabs are experimental', while other signs were anti-lockdown and demanded that we get our 'freedom' back. It seems to me that if we don't want Covid to hit us badly this winter, and don't want to end up locked down or wearing facemasks everywhere, we need to protect ourselves by being vaccinated? I didn't see any signs stating that Covid wasn't real, so I'm not really sure what their alternative solution is? I’ve added some pictures of members of the same group I saw near Crawley a few weeks ago in the ‘extras’. If I see any again, I'll stop and ask them!

All of my lessons were fine but the day ended with ‘drama’, in the form of a Year 7 Drama class, which mainly consisted of the students pretending to murder each other (they had to write and perform a short play about a haunted house) and it was a funny (if loud!) way to end my week there. I hope I get to go back soon.

My photo today is very blurry, as I had to take it from quite a distance while sitting in traffic. The shot I really wanted was of an absolutely glorious stag I saw in a field I drove past this morning, which had the most amazingly ginormous antlers, but I couldn't stop to take a picture. Trust me, he was magnificent! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.