Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Autumn of my mind......

As the garden snuggles down, the colours fade and people migrate indoors I have to do something similar, at least for a while. My brain is slowly dying. It keeps having a car crash. Imagine the CGI effects in a film. My vision suddenly implodes to a small oval tunnel, peripheral vision fades and I collapse mentally and outwardly. I have become old, quickly, the pain is intolerable. 
I love your images and the laughs we share over trivial one liners and the tall tales of times past. Elaine and I delight in your pictures. Do not relax, I shall be hovering nearby. 
Love and hugs to you all. Rob & his Garden Fairy.

NW Oztralia, Karratha. The Oz Iron ore centre, owned by Hammersley Iron, digging the biggest hole in the world near Wittenoom. Every day freighters take 100,000 tons of ore to Korea. The ships were guided by ship’s pilots out of the channels and into the ocean. Then one of our crews would land, pick up the pilot and bring him back to shore, usually in a small Bell 206 Jet Ranger. Then one night the 206 was unavailable so a Puma crew did the job, except they didn’t they fell short of the deck, could not recover and ditched. Elaine and I were in Perth and heard there was a hearing into the accident and attended, as my mates were in the dock. At the tribunal I was fronted by a member of the company training staff from UK, he went to shake my hand. I ignored it and let rip at him for “Accepting the man’s hospitality, eating with his family, working alongside him, sending him off to do a job he wasn’t qualified or trained for, and now he was part of the system about to shaft him.” I was held back by Elaine, what I had no idea about was the Judge. A lady was standing behind me, another at her side. I apologised for my rant and behaviour, no sweary words. 
I was astonished when she took her seat. The court proceedings were efficient and bloody as QCs and lawyers badgered the witnesses and crew. When it was over the 20 or so pilots went off to a pub to celebrate. My mind tells me she learned more from that confrontation than from the evidence. 
Years before in Karratha the chief training Capt, a Sri-Lankan called Roy, left us at the bar, he sang, “Bye bye Blackbird, Bye-bye……..” I caught him chatting up a young lady and chuckled, he simply said, “Just working a bit of the old Black Magic Rob.” Pilots, a bunch of comedians. 

Wittenoom, 200 Km into the desert, just short of the mine. It is a ghost town, it’s where they mined asbestos, not a long term project! The pub served us the best curry we have ever tasted. Elaine had fear in her eyes as the blokes in black vests sank ale and played darts in the animals bar next door. As she relaxed and got stuck into the tucker she admitted she was thoroughly enjoying the experience. The next day we drove back, or at least she did. The first and only time she got to drive at 70mph on a dirt road. Brilliant times.
If only we had pressurised the air-con the red bulls blood dust would not have got inside our suitcase!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.