A Casualty of Covid

Until Covid disrupted all our routines, we had a very pleasant walking ritual. One of us would drive the 5kms or so to town, park the car and walk home. The other would walk to town, collect the car and drive back home. So we each got a 5km walk, and we could get the mail and do other small errands. For me though the main point of this ritual was the coffee.
 
The Bowral Café was one of my favourite cafés for years. (My dearly beloved doesn’t drink coffee so it is a solitary pleasure.) The café was a family business, in the main street and arranged like an old fashioned milk bar, with vinyl covered booth seats. The coffee was good, and they sold delicious cakes and pies, not to mention the ice cream and the home made chocolate.
 
When Covid struck the walking ritual lapsed and so did my visits to the café. I was always planning to go back but I left it too late. Now the café has gone. The interior has been completely stripped, no trace remaining. Just one more of the small businesses defeated by Covid.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.