WilsonsNewDad

By WilsonsNewDad

EAT DIFFERENT

Ahead of the 2021 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Glasgow – COP26 – Wilson is trying to mitigate the effects of climate change with a poster campaign aimed at changing our eating habits.
He called me into the dining room this morning, as he had something to show me.
Hanging on the wall was a large, framed poster headed EAT DIFFERENT, showing Wilson tucking enthusiastically into a tub of termites.
'Look, New Dad', he began, 'something's got to change.
Each cow, on average releases up to 120 kg of Methane per year.
Methane is a greenhouse gas like carbon dioxide (CO2) – but it's 23 times more powerful!
He paused for a moment to gauge whether I was paying attention. Once he'd judged that I was, he continued:
'That's like every cow in the world driving 12,500 km per year (7,800 miles) in its own car! Something has GOT to change.'
I frowned appreciatively, while trying to imagine cows driving around in cars…
Wilson then gestured towards an opened can of Pressed Ants and a packet of Dried Ants arranged on the table in front of him.
'Humankind will have to STOP EATING MEAT before its production destroys the planet' he announced gravely, 'and there is No Planet B!'
'But I'm already a vegetarian,' I protested, 'at least, ever since you came to live here.'
He held up one paw and said, 'I'm sorry, it's not enough. The only sustainable way forward is INSECTS.
But humans eating more insects will mean fewer ants for me – so I'm being pretty altruistic here – now you'll have to do your bit!
Mole the mole then chimed in to say that insects were way more tasty than worms, and I noticed Antony licking his lips as he gazed longingly at the opened can of Pressed Ants...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.