Meeting Bonnie and Cormack

Had a walk round the Inch with Debbie and Neil to meet the two dogs which are both labradoodles (poodles crossed with labs equalling making small fortunes for breeders selling pups which are essentially mongrels - madness ) I chuckle at these people parting with thousands for a designer dog. I also see that folks are handing back the lockdown pups and even saying they found them as strays cos they find now they can’t manage the dog now they are back at work, or even they can’t afford them. A lot of these dogs have health problems or behaviour issues. Such a shame.

Anyway, we walked (slowly - I am Not a slow Walker and get antsy walking like a sloth) round the Inch. Cormack (big doodle) is 12 with hip issues and Bonnie is 6 and is full of energy and was sent into the river Tay for a swim which made me concerned as it’s deep and fast! She leapt in from a height and swam well (panic over). They were both lovely dogs and very friendly. Debbie has a new grandson in Edinburgh and would like the dogs to stay over while they visit. I asked if they sleep downstairs without any problems. Well they used to but they have gradually crept into the bedroom during lockdown….. I asked if they live in a bungalow and yes, they do. I asked if they would scrape the doors trying to get upstairs and she couldn’t guarantee this. Hmm. It won’t really work I thought. Our way worked well for us in that Breagha always slept downstairs and was happy with that. I told her that I won’t commit to a set day as I have committed to Saffy and explained that her owner is ill and really needs help, and would be happy in an emergency to look after and walk the dogs but not on a set day. I also mentioned that we walked at a good fast pace yesterday and we like a proper walk with energy used. Yes I know Breagha was 13 but that’s different with your own dog of your life, . I am going by the guidance on the website which says to be firm about your needs so I was firm. I felt quite bonded instantly with Saffy as she brought me her toy and pushed her body into mine.

So we left it she would be in touch if needed but I’m not really feeling this connection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.