Artisan Bread

I have had a few inquires into the method I use to make bread lately.  Today is super stormy, we have a wind advisory and 100% chance of rain so I am spending the day in the kitchen.  I grew up with immigrant parents and bread making was done every few days.  We would knead, rise, punch down....one day I saw a book:  Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes A Day.  I was skeptical but it changed the way I made bread, in fact my mother switched to this method.  There is very little mess and you have enough for 4 loaves of bread.  I use a 6 quart bucket (food grade) add water, yeast and salt.  Mix in flours for type of bread you want.  let it rise to the top of the bucket on the counter, one spoon to wash.  Refrigerate overnight, then dust the top with flour and grab a grapefruit size bit of dough, form very quickly into a loaf and rest on pizza peel while oven is heating.  I use a pizza stone on one shelf and a pan under for water.  When oven is hot, I dust the top of the loaf with flour, slice/score the top and slide on to the hot stone, add one cup of hot water and 30 minutes later I have a perfect loaf of bread.  There is enough for four loaves to be used up over two weeks.  Also works for rolls, pizza, crackers, pita bread, etc.  The website has exact steps and recipes.  After doing it a couple of times it's super simple and fast, I can make a loaf while cooking dinner.

Link: artisanbreadinfive.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.